US Masters: Billy Horschel sanctioned after wind takes the ball into water

Billy Horschel was the dupe of a freakish incident when his ball drifted off the green into a pond as he got set to putt at the fifteenth green at Masters, earleir on Saturday.


Horschel’s 3rd shot, a chip at the par-5, dribbled down to within thirteen feet of the hole, where he noted his ball to have it cleansed for his birdie putt.
But after substituting his ball, he saw in deject as it began moving, ever so slow first, before plucking up pace and then rolling back down the front of the green and into a watery grave, wind as well as gravity caballing against him.
The rules of this game are severe and unyielding, and Horschel had no option but to take a penalty hit and cast off his ball no closer to the hole. Florida-born Horschel told that he did not have his scuba gear to play it from the water. The course is on a fine line. A big old gust came through, his ball was a foot or two from a false front, and it started rolling and the wind kept pushing it to the false front and it went in the water.
He added that this is pure bad luck. Nothing like this have ever taken place with him in the past. This is not the rules officials’ error, this is not Augusta’s fault, this is no one’s fault for that happening.

Category: Ontario Golf | Tags: , , Comments Off on US Masters: Billy Horschel sanctioned after wind takes the ball into water

Comments are closed.

Back to top